Sustainable Oregon 2014

Sustainable Oregon 2014 - June 19-21 - Corvallis, OR | The LaSells Stewart Center

Thanks to all who attended Sustainable Oregon 2014 at Oregon State Univeristy in Corvallis, OR, June 19-21. Sustainable Oregon 2014 featured exciting sessions and workshops exploring recycling education, policy, and planning; an extensive exhibitor hall; fun networking opportunities; and more.

See you next year at Sustainable Oregon 2015, AOR's 37th annual conference and trade show, June 3-5 at the Rivershouse in Bend, OR.

View the Agenda and Presentations

Review the agenda, presentations, and speaker bios from Sustainable Oregon 2014.


Recycler of the Year Awards

Each year, the Association of Oregon Recyclers selects individuals and organizations who have distinguished themselves by their exceptional contributions to recycling and waste prevention efforts in the Northwest to receive Recycler of the Year awards.


Board Elections

The Association of Oregon Recyclers’ election of officers was held at the annual meeting on June 20, 2014.

Congratulations to AOR's newly elected board members:

  • Ali Briggs-Ungerer, Resource Recycling — Chair
  • Fred Stemmler, Recology — Conference Chair
  • Eric Crum, Portland State University CES — Fundraising Chair
  • Julie Jackson, Republic Servcies — Marketing Chair
  • Pete Chism, City of Portland — Membership Chair
  • Kristin Leichner, Pride Disposal — Secretary

Silent Auction

Thank you to everyone who donated items, helped solicit items, and bid on the silent auction. We raised over $1,800 towards scholarships for next year's conference! A special thank you to our silent auction coordinator, and AOR Education Chair, Michelle Metzler.


A big thank you to this year's sponsors:


  • Metro Resource Conservation & Recycling
  • Waste Connections


  • Owens-Illinois
  • Republic Services
  • Waste Management


  • City of Beaverton Solid Waste & Recycling Program
  • City of EugeneWaste Prevention and Green Building Program
  • City of Portland Bureau of Planning and Sustainability
  • Clackamas County Office of Planning and Sustainability
  • Dahl Disposal
  • EG Metals, Inc.
  • Far West Fibers
  • K.B. Recycling, Inc.
  • Oregon Refuse & Recycling Association
  • Pride Disposal
  • RockTenn


  • City of Gresham Recycling and Solid Waste Program
  • EFI Recycling
  • Oregon Beverage Recycling Cooperative
  • Recology Western Oregon
  • SP Recycling NW
  • Washington County Solid Waste & Recycling


  • Bell & Associates
  • Bend Garbage & Recycling
  • Benton Habitat for Humanity
  • Denton Plastics
  • Gabarino Disposal & Recycling
  • Green Solutions
  • Gresham Sanitary Service
  • Heiberg Garbage & Recycling
  • Hillsboro Garbage Disposal
  • Lane County
  • Otto Carts
  • Pacific Sanitation
  • Rockwood Solid Waste
  • Strategic Materials
  • University of Oregon Campus Zero Waste Program
  • Walker Garbage Service


A big thank you to this year's exhibitors:

  • AOR
  • Bagit Systems
  • Carton Council
  • City of Portland
  • Filtrexx
  • Gannon & Scott
  • IPL Inc.
  • NextStep Recycling
  • Oregon State University
  • Oregon Refuse & Recycling Association
  • Re-Trac Connect
  • Republic Services
  • Steel Recycling Institute
  • Total Reclaim/EcoLights NW
  • Trex
  • Universal Recycling Technologies
  • Waste Connections

Community Partners

A big thank you to this year's community partners:

  • BRING Recycling
  • Northwest Environmental Business Council
  • Recycling Advocates
  • Sustainable Business Oregon
  • Washington State Recycling Association

Planning Committee

A big thank you to the Conference Planning Committee:

  • AOR Conference Chair: Ali Briggs-Ungerer, Resource Recycling
  • Erin Anderson, Portland State University CES
  • Abby Boudouris, Oregon DEQ
  • Moonrose Doherty, Portland State University CES
  • Justin Gast, Washington County
  • Nicholas Isbister, City of Gresham
  • Karyn Kaplan, University of Oregon
  • Jason Kragerud, Universal Recycling Technologies
  • Laura Leebrick, ORRA
  • Kristin Leichner, Pride Disposal
  • Michelle Metzler, Waste Management/AOR Education Chair
  • Andrea Norris, Oregon State University
  • Pete Pasterz, Oregon DEQ
  • Bailey Payne, Marion County
  • Jerry Powell, Resource Recycling
  • Amanda Romero, City of Portland
  • Amy Roth, AOR Resource Director
  • Stephanie Scafa, City of Eugene
  • Andy Sloop, Metro
  • Stephanie Stano, Recycle Your Mat
  • Elizabeth Start, Republic Services
  • Peter Van Houten, EG Metals, Inc.
  • Bruce Walker, City of Portland









































































Contact us | View site map